New Education Innovations Funding Grants Awarded

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators, in collaboration with the UCSF Program for Interprofessional Practice and Education and the UCSF Library, is pleased to announce 16 new Education Innovations Funding awards for the 2017-2018 academic year. Totaling $239,230, these intramural grants are expected to make significant contributions to educational excellence at UCSF. Working collaboratively to integrate programs and resources has expanded our capacity to provide the campus community with more efficient and effective support that leverages creative partnerships, raises the visibility of scholarly work in education, and reaches successfully across traditional domains in education.

Our collaboration of three UCSF programs that fund education innovations addressed a range of priorities in education of students and trainees at UCSF.  The call resulted in an unprecedented crop of strong proposals.  Thus, we sought and identified additional funding partners including the Office of Medical Education, the UCSF Academic Senate and Tideswell™ at UCSF.  The Academy would also thank Sonja Schmid for her generous donation which helped to fund one of the projects.  Responsibility for reviewing the submissions was shared within the collaboration.

 Listed below are the 2017-18 interprofessional grant recipients:

Creating an Interprofessional Learning Community in Ambulatory Primary Care for Older Adults
Principal Investigator: Pei Chen, MD, working with Mily Trabing, LCSW; Michele Sharma, MSW; Yvonne Troya, JD; Sarah Hooper, JD; Mackenzie Clark, PharmD, BCPS and Michi Yukawa, MD

 Training interprofessional learners in Motivational Interviewing: An observation and feedback-based curriculum
Principal Investigator: Jennifer K. Manuel, PhD, working with Bridget O’Brien PhD; Rebecca Shunk, MD and Anna Strewler, NP